A 1999 movie – Ghost Dog: Way of the Samurai, and how it relates to Hyouge Mono and triphop

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0165798/?ref_=fn_tt_tt_1

The thing about samurai is that when they were warriors, they weren’t very specialized as samurai, and by the time that they had developed bushido into a uniquely polished specialization, they were aesthetes, poets, and bureaucrats, not bloody warfighters and life-takers.

One anime that expresses the surprising nature of samurai history is Hyouge Mono. I really liked the concept behind that show, but I couldn’t get into it. Watching it was a chore for me, so I dropped it.

I saw (and listened to) a music post over at:

http://rnwdgaf.wordpress.com/2013/11/04/good-music-monday-rn-edition/

and it hammered home the fact that I have no awareness of rap, or hip-hop, or trip-hop, or house, or any of that music.

The most recent time I listened to old rap was when I briefly tried to play GTA: San Andreas, but I have little gaming skill, so that attempt did not last long. At any rate, I encountered that game years after it came out, and even when it came out, its music was several years out of date.

I did have some contact with European trip-hop and rap. I used to have some Portishead albums on CD.


Some of my European friends were very into Talib Kweli.

Comments Might Work, But We Won't Know Until You Try

