Space Dandy Episode 5: moe fans sentimentalize fatherhood, because they know they never will be fathers

Space Dandy Episode 5 is there to tell us that Dandy is a lousy warrior, a lousy adventurer, but a decent guy who would make a good father.

vlcsnap-2014-02-02-16h04m31s89

http://animealmanac.com/2008/09/10/repost-the-deal-with-moe/

it’s the longing for fatherhood. That the last statistic in that article proves it. “Unmarried males in their 30s account for the majority of the moe market.” When you’re a Japanese salary man working for over decade in an exhausting job, what do you have to show for it? What’s the purpose in your life? Well, if you’re not married and don’t have a family… I don’t really think you have much going for you. So yeah, they’re seeing that window of fatherhood slowly closing on them, and it makes them long for it more. So that’s why they turn to Moé comics, anime, and games. And if you look at these things, there’s hardly any mention of anything sexual. All these men really want is an innocent little girl of their own to take care of.

The sad truth is that many anime fans use TV to fill a gaping void in their lives.

Humans are supposed to have real relationships with other humans.

The modern world does not support that.

So we declare our loyalty to fictional characters.

We don’t actually have any children, and we don’t build communities in which other men can become fathers, but we support fictional fathers like the gruff-but-protective male bounty hunter in El Cazador de la Bruja.
vlcsnap-2014-02-02-19h04m17s185
This is what we call “modern life.”

If I ever decide that this really bothers me, I guess I’ll have to stop watching so much anime and go out into the world and try to forge lasting relationships.

That’s the trick, though- due to economic circumstances, my limited purchasing power means that I’ll be scraping by on a small amount of money. Forming lasting relationships would be easier if I could buy some land, put down some roots, prove to people that I can be part of a functional community.

If you have to scrape along without much cash, you can’t afford to buy a house or stay in one place through good times and bad. You’ve got to drift.
vlcsnap-2014-02-02-18h47m17s166

Drifting through life with no family can be called an “adventure.” That strikes me as an insincere label. An “adventure” is supposed to have airships, swordfights, maybe a dragon or something. Drifting has some exciting challenges and some dreary challenges. I wouldn’t call it an “adventure.”

If I ever find myself in a situation where weasels are ripping my flesh, and if I live through that situation, I might look back with hindsight and call that an adventure.
ad13

The modern world does not present me with many challenges that I can surpass by simple, decisive use of muscle power. While many shonen stories teach the power of Effort-Friendship-Victory, the efforts of the modern world are often just work-related, and the “friendships” are just co-worker relationships, and the “victories” are just surviving to see another day.

Comments Might Work, But We Won't Know Until You Try

