In less than a half hour he ripped my eye wide open, inducing a massive choroidal hemorrhage and total detachment of the retina, leaving the eye blind.

Fred Reed wrote:

The loss of the eye was a most unpleasant shock to me. I had expected to have normal or nearly normal vision in the eye and had planned to return to my work in journalism, having for example made tentative plans with Kara Hopkins, then the editor of The American Conservative, to go to Afghanistan for the magazine. Having been blinded, and thus unable to travel without my wife to help me, my reporting days were over. I became extremely depressed. The effects of losing one’s vision are hard to describe. Loss of a leg would be a nuisance, but losing one’s sight is ghastly.

http://www.fredoneverything.net/Stanley-home1.shtml

One thought on “In less than a half hour he ripped my eye wide open, inducing a massive choroidal hemorrhage and total detachment of the retina, leaving the eye blind.”

Comments are closed.