Artistically defensible shows can still be annoying, and I don’t have to watch them

ThisGuyAnnoysMe

Sometimes some parts of your life experience just annoy you.

For me, one example would be this guy in the gif above. He just annoys me. So I like to see painful things happening to him.

When annoying things fall into your life by outside action, you just have to extract yourself as soon as possible.

But when the annoyance is self-inflicted, you have to recognize that you’re in control, and stop the behavior that causes annoyance.

In my case, Black Bullet is pretty annoying, and I have to stop making up silly reasons to force myself to watch it.

I will give it credit where credit is due – it seems to have good writing but bad priorities.

So let’s start with the bad priorities.

The producers who made the show, and possibly the original creators, want to sell a product to lolicon customers.

So they have an over-sexed little girl as the main superheroine.

She’s in love with the hero, and she actually wants him to have sex with her.

offerFromALady

If you want to stop reading at that point and write the show off, no one will blame you.

I will note, however, that it’s a huge waste. The writer is competent; the characters are not bad renditions of old tropes. The writer does an excellent job of depicting a codependent, maladjusted girl who clings to her chosen romance-object to offset her own major psychological stresses.

The writer will probably do a decent job of squeezing massive angst out of forbidden, frustrated love. And just when the audience wants the love affair to be resolved, there will probably be some tragic shock that prevents resolution and closure. I don’t want to stick around and find out what will make this show tragic. I’ve got enough problems with real life.

loveEnju

becomingHuman

youdon'tknowUs

angstFinal

Actually, I would find such angst to be overdone and stupid, even if it weren’t manifested in squicky lolicon. Yeah, the lolicon elements are perfectly justified by the plot. If this story appeared to be good, I would now be justifying for the squick factor on grounds that it’s artistic, not prurient. As it stands, the show isn’t good enough to watch, so I won’t bother defending its artistic choices.


Stories about codependent girls clinging to love-shy boys don’t have to be bad. For one thing, they don’t have to be lolicon!

For example, Unbreakable Machine Doll was watchable, even though it was just a bunch of silly shonen fist-fights punctuated by a codependent teenage gynoid throwing herself at a boy who didn’t want to have sex with her.

Then again, that show was mostly watchable because every episode ended with this song:


In the case of Black Bullet, if you like angst and darkness and adolescent doom, along with some lolicon and superpowered fist-fights, you might find it to be watchable. I have better things to do with my life than to watch it, waiting for improvements.

It’s pretty sad, though, because the writers actually understand that the giant spiders that serve as basic antagonists need to be explained in terms of the square-cube law.

scifi1

scifi2

scifi3

scifi4

This is a waste of a potentially good sci-fi story. I dropped it after two episodes, and that’s forty-eight minutes of my life that I won’t get back.

