The function of fantasy

re_imagine_by_yuumei-d6b1y26

This first picture gives us an idea of fantasy as leading to practical action plans.

The actions depicted are progressive, innovative, ennobling.

Fantasy can also move us to indulgence and consumerism.

Shows about alcohol such as Bartender make me want to drink alcohol. (I started watching that series and I had to drop it because I got roaringly drunk every time I watched an episode. That was a bad thing for my objectives at the time, so I re-sorted my priorities and dropped the show.)

Hellsing makes me want to smoke cigars.

And some fantasies make me want to go shopping. (This is not necessarily a bad thing, but for many people in many situations, shopping is a passive surrender to brainwashing advertisements that encourage them to buy things they don’t need at prices they can’t afford.)

nightBazaar

