Isegoria features Miyazaki

http://www.isegoria.net/2014/06/hayao-miyazaki-music-video/

I distinctly recall buying a Ghibli DVD that included this, and watching the whole thing, but for some reason, I didn’t recall it as being like that. Maybe I’m thinking of Porco Rosso. Or maybe I watched it ten years ago and memories blur together after time.

Isegoria says it’s got an Akira vibe, but I think cyberpunk just happened to absorb a lot of sci-fi tropes that were floating around in 1980, looking for a home. Note the Jet Age soaring architecture, which has been prominent in sci-fi since before Metropolis. And of course Miyazaki was influenced by Giraud.

This entry was posted in Anime and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments May Send You Extra Unwanted Notifications. Please do not check the "notify" box if you have limited inbox space. We are trying to fix this.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.