I can’t watch 18 shows at the same time and maintain the mood

vlcsnap-2015-01-01-20h04m35s22

 

vlcsnap-2015-01-01-20h01m46s110

 

vlcsnap-2015-01-01-20h02m06s59

 

Fiction is a stupid waste of human life, but at least some fiction – like Mushishi – addresses my feelings of alienation.  Life would be better if I had high-quality philosophical thoughts and then acted on them, but instead I watch anime, generate low-quality philosophical thoughts from the anime – and then, usually – I fail to act on the thoughts!

2014 must have been a spiritually empty year for me, because instead of making meaningful human relationships, I tried to watch more than 18 shows. The major shows were:

hitsugi no chaika – avenging battle
Denki gai no Honya San
karen senki
inou battle wa nichijou-kei no naka de
trinity seven
danna ga nani wo itteiru ka wakaranai ken
ore twintail ni narimasu
shirobako season 1
parasyte season 1
amagi brilliant park
Garo
gugure! Kokkuri-san
madan no ou to vanadis
shingeki no bahamut -genesis
daitoshokan no hitsujikai
Psycho-PASS 2
mushishi

That’s not even counting the shows I dropped, or the retro stuff, like A. D. Police, or the non-Japanese stuff, like Archer.  Was I seriously wasting six hours per week on these shows?

This poorly-documented foray into massive anime consumption did not work out well. Most of the time I was burned out on various shows and I would put off watching them while binge-watching some other show.

What have I learned? I definitely like high-concept fiction (e.g. Psycho-PASS) but I’m willing to settle for well-produced epics without much depth (e.g. Shingeki no Bahamut).

Some shows (e.g. Parasyte, Garo) haven’t completed, so it will be interesting to see whether their stories turn out to justify their screentimes.

 

However, a lot of shows are created solely to create excitement in viewers, and that requires a considerable amount of attention and regularity.  Binge-watching trashes that momentum.  If I only watched a few shows, but watched them as regularly as I watched
danna ga nani wo itteiru ka wakaranai ken, maybe I would have experienced those shows as the creators intended them.

5 thoughts on “I can’t watch 18 shows at the same time and maintain the mood”

  1. Man, this just reminded me that I watched over 30 shows this year…and plan to watch and finish more this year. Hopefully it won’t be horrible ;_;

    Like

  2. Like all things, always in moderation. I guess it blinds you especially when you’re following a series and writing an episode summary AND your thoughts about it; but to me, it’s probably why I don’t get burned out and why I looked forward to Log Horizon and Madan no Ou to Vanadis this past season.

    Like

    1. I have only been working out twice a week for a few months. That’s not enough. I procrastinate, I watch shows I don’t really like.

      I think I need to resume my prior workout schedule, or even increase it. If I’m devoting more time to sweating I’ll be more eager to drop marginal shows.

      Like

Comments Might Work, But We Won't Know Until You Try

